The Clash of Social Media


Everybody’s getting really fond of using social media for a lot of purposes. Some use it for their personal reasons and others use it to increase brand awareness for their businesses. Here’s a really helpful post in learning stuff about social media users and who help them in managing their accounts: Social Media Users and Their Allies.

Anyways, I would personally want this post to become a tool for people to see whether it is right to use up all social networking sites and dominate them or just simply stick to specific sites.

I’m really a fan of social media and I honestly want to admit that I definitely dominate almost all, famous sites such as Quora, YouTube, Google Plus, Twitter, LinkedIn, SoundCloud, Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Tumblr, WordPress, Blogger and Scribd. There are a lot more that I didn’t even try to mention because it’s either they’re not that popular or certainly renowned like my personal favorite site, About.me. The site can basically just show off who you are in terms of your online presence for free. It’s like your online business/personal card. If you would wanna see my signature on my personal email account, you would really notice a LOT of icons. Take a look now:

Alleli Aspili Email SignatureI made it look that way just because I wanted to, haha. For normal individuals like me (I’m at least normal), it is just okay to do that. I’m not actually aiming to become that famous online. It’s just that I’m having too much fun using those sites. I’m generally not everywhere, but if and whenever you would try to search for my name on Google, you’d really grab a LOT of me and a LOT of different sites where there is me. Try it! :)

It might look good for me, but if you’re trying to build an online reputation for your business’s name, then try to think a little bit more. Businesses don’t have to be everywhere online. One of the best answers on your question “Why?” is because your target market would be somewhere on those sites but not everywhere! Think. If you are targeting people aging from 50-60, then there will be a little chance for you to see them on Tumblr or Instagram. There will be a huge chance for you to find them on LinkedIn, Google Plus and Quora because those sites are more professional. People aging from 50-60 are probably professionals already, right? That’s it!

Another reason is this: How would a start up business even handle a lot of social media accounts for branding? Aside from outsourcing, what would be the greatest way to do it? Even I can’t handle and manage all my social media accounts at once! It’s good for me since I don’t have goals in doing so, but how about for businesses which objectives are to increase brand awareness, increase ROI and maintain loyal customers? It must be crazy for a start-up to try to overshadow social media. It’s a crazy risk. I probably have been sharing to the world that risks are normal for business, but in social media, it might be not. Social media management has to be planned.

Using social media must not be costly ’cause everyone can use it for free, which is a great opportunity for a lot of businesses and professionals. But it’s a risk to consume a lot of time with it, especially if your goals aren’t rightly set.

Social Media

What are your thoughts about the usage of social media today? Are you someone like me who seem to create profiles in almost all social media accounts? Why are you doing it? Please leave your answers below!

5 thoughts on “The Clash of Social Media

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

  2. Howdy! This blog post couldn’t be written any better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I am going to forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a great read. Many thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: How to Build a Powerful LinkedIn Profile | Inside UR Head Blog

What Do You Think?

